Our Board

Pupil with President and PatronRoyal Blind is governed by a Board, who are responsible for ensuring that the charity is well-managed and abides by its charitable aims. The Trustees appoint the Chief Executive, who is responsible for managing the organisation together with the heads of the main services and departments.

The following currently outlines who is who at Royal Blind:


His Royal Highness The Duke of Gloucester, KG GCVO


His Grace The Duke of Buccleuch and Queensberry, KBE

Vice President

The Hon. Mrs Janet Buchanan-Smith

Board of Directors

Elected by Contributors

Gwenn McCreath (Chair)

David Johnston (Vice Chair and Convener, Scottish War Blinded Committee)

Kate Cherry (Vice Chair and Convener, Education Committee)

Michael Craig (Convener, Pension Scheme Trustees)

Patsy Gillies (Convener, Care Home Committee)

James Law (Convener, Braille Press Committee)

Grant Macrae (Convener, Finance & General Purposes Committee)

Mike Martin (Convener, Adult Services Committee)

Michelle McWilliams (Convener, Marketing & Fundraising Committee)

Jamie Cuthbertson

Sandra Warburton

Elected by Public Bodies

Cllr Derek Howie - City of Edinburgh Council

Dawn Burrows - Edinburgh Merchant Company

Robert Mooney – STUC

Jimmy Milhench - NLBD

Read our Board biographies.

Chief Executive and Secretary

Mark O'Donnell - Chief Executive

Principal Office

Royal Blind
50 Gillespie Crescent
Edinburgh EH10 4JB


BDO (UK) LLP, Registered Auditors
Citypoint, 65 Haymarket Terrace
Edinburgh EH12 5HD


The Royal Bank of Scotland plc
26 Home Street


Pagan Osborne
55-56 Queen Street

Investment Advisers

Barnett Waddingham LLP 
163 West George Street
G2 2JJ